You can follow VAKE 2019 live on web with Twitter-feed, on Facebook, Instagram @vakefinnmark and out on the Peninsula. Wind and weather will determine our progress, so if you want to meet and greet us somewhere along the way, follow the live tracking


Tentative plan - will be updated

Tuesday April 2nd

Tuesday, VAKE starts from Berlevåg Community House at 10:00. You can be there to cheer the teams on! Follow live on web to be updated.

Tuesday April 2nd / Wednesday April 3rd

Teams arrive CP Stjernevann in Tana from Tuesday. Follow live on web to be updated

Wednesday April 3rd / Thursday April 4th

The teams should be somewhere around CP Stjernevann in Tana, CP Jakobselva and CP Vadsø. CP Jakobselva is by snowmobile track, CP Vadsø is 800 meters above the waterworks station. Follow live on web to be updated.

Thursday April 4th / Friday April 5th / Saturday April 6th

The teams should be somewhere around CP Jakobselva, CP Vadsø and on their way to the finishing line in Vardø! Follow live on web to be updated.

Audience at CP Vadsoe photo Ingerid Jordal

AUDIENCE at checkpoint Vadsø. Photo: Ingerid Jordal

The 2018 VAKE Expedition team consists of 24 participants from Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Germany, Norway and the US, one musher and ten dogs and three members of the VAKE crew. You can follow the expedition live on web

Komagvær foto Espen Robertsen


The heroes of VAKE Expedition 2018:                                           

Beckett Brothers 
Thomas Beckett (Denmark)
Anders Beckett (Denmark)

Beito Kite 
Svein Yngvar Willassen (Norway)
Nicolay Flaaten (Norway)

Delta Kite Force (Snow) 
Amil Kabil (US/Bosnia)
Nick Levi (US/Bulgaria)
Radoslav Raychev (US/Bulgaria)

Jamie Anderson (UK)
Delaunay Stephane (France)

Markku Mastomäki (Finland)
Rune Saugmann (Denmark)
Mikko Lindholm (Finland)

Nils Ivar Nilsen (Norway)
Pål Andreassen (Norway)
Svein Vidar Nilsen (Norway)

Lazy foxes 
Mike Ritter (Germany)
Markus Färber (Germany)

Antony Baird (UK)
Alistair Guthrie (UK)

Snowflake & Icicle 
Monika Seidlova (Czech Republic)
Andrej Mikulik (US/Slovakia)

Tre Chronor 
Jonas Axelsson (Sweden)
Johan Ramberg (Sweden)
Ulf Jentler (Sweden)

Tana Husky 
Dag Broch and 10 huskies (Norway)

VAKE crew
Øyvind Stangnes (Norway)
Bjørn Breivik (Norway)
Anna Solvoll Rognmo (Norway)


Sector Alarm


Varangerhalvøya nasjonalpark